Send Dave White’s Mom A Christmas Card

 

KCRW has this new radio show called Unfictional.  One of the story tellers in today’s episode was Dave White and his story “Taking Mom to the Movies” was great. I checked out his blog and he has this brilliant tradition where he has fans and listeners send Christmas cards to his mom, who is in a nursing home. It makes her happy so I’m all on board, I think it’s really nice.

IT’S TIME FOR YOU TO SEND MY MOM A CHRISTMAS CARD
I’ve been doing this for the past few years and my mom is really into it now.
 

As most of you know she has lived in a nursing home since 2005, the result of a major stroke that left her needing 24/7 care.

I had the big idea a few years ago of getting people who know me/have read what I write about my visits to see her to send her Christmas cards. Been doing it for a while and she loves getting them. It’s happy surprise mail every day during December.

Here’s how to do it if you want to participate:

1. Get a Christmas card
2. Sign it
3. Do NOT seal it. That’s important. You’re sending it to me first and I check out all the cards before I send them on to her. (There have been a few cards in the past that had nearly naked dudes in Santa hats on them or else that had humorous-ish shit that’s not nice to Jesus. She’s a fan of Jesus and the nursing home isn’t keen on soft-core Xmas cards hanging off the residents’ doors. So yeah, don’t seal it.)
4. Put the card and the envelope it comes in into a bigger envelope.
5. Mail it to me. Then I will seal it, address it and send it on to her.

If you don’t have my mailing address then email me at DLelandWhite at aol dot com.

And to all of you who join in, thanks!
D

UPDATE: I FORGOT THAT SOME OF YOU DON’T KNOW HER NAME. IT’S JOANNA

A+D

(Image via Flickr)

Leave a Reply

